2012-04-07 Siurana, Can Parásit   Leave a comment

Congratulations are in order…

it’s stopped raining!  After 5 days continuous rain, we were gagging to get out and pull down on some rock.  Paco, God bless him, was game to tick some routes in El Pati, even though it was freezing and the sun wouldn’t sneak past El Cargol for another hour or two.  I onsight the easiest line here, 6b+ Lame Chucha Baby but lower down without feeling in my fingertips.  10 minutes later they feel like they’re burning!  Fly and his Girona posse (Rosa, Oriel, Dani) are in Can Parásit so we decamp – a good call.  Sun, no breeze, less people… result!

I try the new 6c+ Montaizer Al Zaidi.  Couldn’t onsight it though, I got past the first crux OK then thin moves up to the 2nd crux.  After this easy going to the chain.  Paco calls up to me, I’m being chased by a red squirrel.  At the anchors the critter approaches, stands on my left foot with his paws on my shin, sniffs, then wonders off round an outcrop and into a crevice.  Squirrie, the cute vermin, shadows us throughout the day, quite unafraid of humans.

Squirrie

I retry the route that I can’t seem to redpoint – 6c+, Ma Mola Molt just keeps beating me.  I always get pumped at the last few moves and can’t stick it.  Grrr!

After this the new variant 7a, El Mon Se Acaba that starts with the same 5 bolts, but then veers right.  Thin climbing on not much, but half way up to clip a bolt I find Squirrie’s drey. 

To finish I open Libertarias, 7a and almost make the chains but succumb to the huge pump in my forearms.  Doable this 7a, I repeat it later but I’m too tired today to redpoint.

Libertarias, 7a   Libertarias, 7a   Libertarias, 7a

6b+   6c+   6c+   7a   7a   7a   Photos

Posted 2012/04/09 by allend66 in Can Parásit, Siurana

Leave a Reply

