2012-11-05 Siurana, Grau Dels Massets Abaix   Leave a comment

I was looking forward to sending Papágora, 7b+ today after a rainy rest-day, but the wind on that whole valley was too strong.  Instead we climb on the other side where there is no wind at all.  Grau Dels Massets Abaix is a quality sector with plenty of projects to do, we warm up on the nice but polished 6a, Diedre and then onto business – La Muerte Del Sponsor, 7b+

La Muerte Del Sponsor, 7b+

Jack’s working out some great beta, works a few sections and then I’m onto it.  Thin start, really nice positioning moves to a thin crimpy crux – which I nail first time, and using my own beta, up to a good rest then some odd and wonderful moves to the last roof problem which I need to work.  What a superb climb – quality, seven stars!

Jack sends it on the second go using my beta in the crux and at the roof, and my second go was looking good, past the crux OK but a foot slipped off a not-too-difficult sequence… but I top it out again to retry the roof.  I was annoyed at the simple mistake, but for my 3rd try I was too tired and even though I get through the crux OK, the forearm pump is too much and I take a couple of whippers.  Definitely sendable, and soon too, though tomorrow we already have a new 40mtr 7c, Lua (Siuranella Est) in our sights.  Sunny but cold, but still a great day.

6a   7b+   7b+   7b+

Posted 2012/11/05 by allend66 in Grau Dels Masets, Rockclimbing, Siurana

Leave a Reply

