Archive for 2013/02/21

2013-02-20 Siurana, Grau Dels Masets Esquerra   Leave a comment

After crushing in Chulilla for 4 days then a rest day, we were rained off for another couple of days.  So with eagerness we’re back to Esquerra for our projects, Sugopy, 7a for Cristian and Linus, 7b+ for me.  I like Cristian’s style – he gets straight on it.  I however warm-up on the remaining 6b that I’d never tried before, Black.  Another brill climb.  This is a pretty decent sector, and there’s also 2 new 7a courtesy of Miki, one that crosses the diagonal 6c, and the other at the right hand end of the wall.  There is also from the last week a provisional 7b that starts with the first 2 bolts of Ganas, and goes straight up.

Cristian works his sequence, and I struggle up the thin 7a lower section of Linus.  I’ve got a tender right ankle from a half-sprain plus I’m not really in the mood for it today.  On the second try I bail left (7a) on Linus forgetting the 7b+ block move.  The whole route is sustained and tough, but I’m not enjoying it today.  A couple more tries and Cristian finally breaks into 7a ground with a textbook send.  I strip my draws and we’ll probably shelve this sector now for a while.

Sugopy, 7a

6b   7a   7a

Posted 2013/02/21 by allend66 in Grau Dels Masets, Rockclimbing, Siurana