2016-05-30 Wales, Llanymynech   2 comments

Technically, we’re not actually climbing in Wales, as the two sectors we visit today, Grid Iron Wall, and Nomad Wall, are a stone’s throw across the border into England.

Coming Of Age, 6a has one hard cruxy move on it with the rest being a steady amble to the chains, and is a reasonable warm-up.  But it’s very hot with the sun on most of Grid Iron, so we move into shade on Nomad Wall.  I had always wanted to do the 50mtr 6a, Southern Mountains and now was the perfect opportunity.  It’s a fun route… there’s a hard move to get past the first clip, and it’s steady climbing up to the intermediate lower-off (we didn’t want to do it in one giant pitch as the rope drag would’ve been bad).  So for 17 draws in total for the whole route, I take 10 thinking this will get me half way, but I run out of gear and miss the last bolt.  To the intermediate lower-off is a tight 35mtrs and I bring up my second.  The 2nd pitch to the top of the wall is only another 15mtrs, but there’s a little bit of a sting in the tale!  Great route, and recommended.

Now in the shade, I put the draws on Curfew, 6b+ for Becky to project.  A nice route this, in the Top50 list on UKC.  To finish a good day I run up Gaza Stripper, 6b, again 35mtrs.

6a   6a   6b+   6b

Posted 2016/06/12 by allend66 in Llanymynech, Rockclimbing

2 responses to “2016-05-30 Wales, Llanymynech

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours lately, yet I never
    discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is pretty worth
    enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and
    bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the internet can be much more useful than ever before.

  2. Thanks Jimmy, but not so much of a webmaster, more like webgrunt. Thank you for your interest.

Leave a comment